Internet vs. DVR

First, some monthly costs:

  • Internet: $37.50 (I have residential Tier 3)
  • Netflix: $8.95, I mainly stream tv/movies from this service. Rarely watch the 1 DVD a month.
  • Cable: “Free”, it’s included in my rent

I only have a laptop set up at home – it’s hooked to my TV and I mainly stream video from Hulu, South Park Studios, and NetFlix.

I use the web quite a bit, but it’s almost all for work or school purposes. The office is < 5 miles away, and I have a desk and two monitors at work… so if I need to browse the web/buy something/do email I go to the office anyway.

DVR service would cost me $22.50. DVR can replace my internet service and Netflix. That’s a savings of $23.95 a month for $287.40 a year. I’m looking to my readers to let me know if there’s something I’m missing. Comment and vote!

About andyhillky
I'm cool.

12 Responses to Internet vs. DVR

  1. stinkypie says:

    I say go for it.

  2. belcher says:

    I say drop down to tier 1, then put together a real cheap DVR yourself, if possible.

  3. Stephen says:

    Yeah, what about buying a TV tuner (external) for your laptop? My brother bought one for his mac and it has a great interface to it (probably has a win version). No monthly fee involved.

  4. Dave says:

    Giganews: $25/mo
    Newzbin: about $1.75/mo

    Gives you basically the same or better content/convenience as your DVR/Hulu/Netflix. Assuming legality isn’t really an issue…

  5. bofe says:

    I work on computers all day and lots of nights… I just want this stuff to work.

    That’s why I used Hulu/Netflix. So that rules out converting my laptop to MythTV or home rolled DVR. (or using another box to do it)

    @Stephen does your brother’s set up do a DVR style functionality?

    Another footnote: The laptop has 100gb storage.

    @Dave That’s the other alternative. But I’d still have to have Internet service to run those two, so it’d add $26.75 a month to my bills.

  6. bofe says:

    @Dave I mean it’d add $17.80. (After subtracting netflix)

  7. Matt says:

    I voted both, but sorry, I have no money to donate lol

    Ive heard of people ditching cable to watch TV shows online like you currently are, but with free cable with rent…I would have to vote with keep your internet, and make your own DVR out of your laptop. But I would say you need to splurge and be sure your keep a good quality TV tuner. Ive had some TV tuners for desktops before and end up taking them out because they just aren’t that good with the picture quality

  8. adam says:

    go off the grid completely and play drums

  9. Ally says:

    I’ve had a DVR for several years now and I loooove it. I’ve never been much on watching TV/movies on my laptop (it gets hot) but I really enjoy the Ti-Faux.

  10. Lee Coursey says:

    I never even considered this as a possibility that Bofe would consider giving up internet at home?

    Wow.

    Take 1 week, write down all the times you go to the computer at home after 5pm, and then decide.

  11. adam says:

    @Lee, he just dropped it, congrats bofe! You win MSB

  12. bofe says:

    Internet is gone. DVR is awesome.

