9-5

I haven’t been able to post much lately, so in this post I’ll try and summarize what’s going on for me, personally.

In accordance with goal #3 on my Things to do before I turn 30 list, I’m pursuing my master’s degree. I’m in two classes this fall semester: ACC604 and CIS650.

Both classes have presented their own challenges, but I’ve been a little surprised at the amount of outside of class group work that has been required.

The typical day goes like this:

  • 7:00 AM – Wake up
  • 7:45 AM – Arrive on campus
  • 11:30 AM – Leave Campus, going home for lunch
  • 12:30 PM – Arrive back on campus
  • 6:00 PM – Leave campus, go home
  • 7:00 PM – Back to campus, swim for 30-40 minutes
  • 8:00 PM – Get back home, have dinner with my GF
  • 11:00 PM – Go to bed

Thursdays are a little different, as I’m on campus until 9pm. I’m not really looking for a pity party, and I know there are plenty of people who have it “worse”, this is just what I’m doing most days.

I’m finishing my master’s in spring of 2010. Three more semesters =)

At home, I barely get “on the computer”. I check my e-mail fairly constantly, I check social sites, and I watch video on sites like Hulu and Netflix. No instant messaging, no late night coding binges, just some very basic home use. My instant messaging comrades have noticed, unfortunately. I just don’t want to spend more time on the computer once I’m at home. I’ve got plenty of other things to keep me busy (like cooking, apartment upkeep, and laundry) where burning a night on IM isn’t possible.

Speaking of Netflix, I’m slowly turning into one of their psychotic advocates. Their actual service and their customer service has been excellent. I’ve gone through two seasons of Dexter (my new favorite TV show that isn’t LOST) in about a month and a half.

I’ve also renewed my fandom of the Tennessee Titans. I was a big fan of the team last year when they played Vince Young. This year’s team is a pleasure to watch – not too exciting, but fundamentally on top of their game. A couple of co workers and I attended the Titans game against Green Bay this month. It was my first NFL game, and mind boggling.

That wraps up what I’ve been doing for the past few months. It’s a pretty simple life – just trying to make the most of every day.

About andyhillky
I'm cool.

Comments are closed.

