Re: Is SQL Server ‘keeping up’ with MySQL?

I came across this article in my DBA readings: Is SQL Server keeping up with MySQL?

Since I’ve got experience on both sides of the fence, I’ll chime in and try to not be biased.

When did MySQL finally add stored procedures?

Version 5.0. From my experience, they are young/buggy. For instance no variables for LIMITs or default parameter values.

How about transaction support, SSIS-like capabilities, a scheduled job management system, and a relatively easy-to-use consolidated GUI management tool?

Version 4.1. The rest of the question is a bit loaded.

MySQL as a query engine has lots of nice features and performs well. You should always use the platform that will meet your needs.

Simply put, MySQL’s administration tools don’t cut it.

“LIMIT” notwithstanding, if SQL Server’s functional specs weren’t already light years beyond MySQL with SQL Server 2005, it will certainly leave them in the dust when SQL Server 2008 hits the streets.

I don’t know about light years. Especially for the query engine.

SQL Server’s query engine is still greatly ahead of MySQL and the administrative tools are light years ahead.

About andyhillky
I'm cool.

Comments are closed.

