Metallica’s And Justice for All Album: 21% Intro

I’ve been thinking a lot about the concept of an intro in popular music. Do long, non-vocals introductions work? Are they common?

An intro time is the number of seconds of music played before vocals enter the song.

The Intro Ratio™ is the number of seconds of an intro divided by the songs total number of seconds.

There are cases when this ratio can be negative. Think songs starting out A-Capella. Instrumental songs need not apply.

Since the thoughts were originally spawned by Metallica’s unnecessarily long intro to “King Nothing”, I thought I’d analyze a Metallica album.

metallicaandjusticeforall.png

An instrumental song, “To Live Is To Die” was omitted.

About andyhillky
I'm cool.

4 Responses to Metallica’s And Justice for All Album: 214 Intro

  1. stinkypie says:

    Needs more Muse.

  2. JohnO says:

    I’ve been thinking in the same lines. Something about the word count in a particular rap song vs. it’s popularity. Is quantity more important than quality.

  3. miranda says:

    how do you even think of that?

  4. dmac says:

    Don’t forget about “Fade to Black” by Metallica. I think that has a sweet intro and it is pretty long if I am remembering correctly.

