They Upgraded, I’m getting it out there

So I’m working on getting everything working so I can test.

Lessons learned so far:

-Develop on the platform you’re implement on. Since I was developing this entirely locally with a WAMP server, I’ve run into a few quirks. Mainly with my inconsistent instantiation $nav = new Navigation(); versus $nav = new navigation(); — with PHP’s autoload function it was causing my stuff to die.

– Again with platform… backslashes versus forward slashes … ugh. Let’s also remember some servers have magic quotes enabled and some do not, in case you’re inserting to a database…

– Load times are a little slower than I was hoping for… I am going to try it later tonight to see if it’s an issue here, an application issue, or a dreamhost issue.

About andyhillky
I'm cool.

3 Responses to They Upgraded, I’m getting it out there

  1. RickP says:

    That’s GREAT news that they got the upgrades done. I look forward to seeing this app soon.

    About the platforms, yeah, that can be a problem… I know at WashU, I deved locally on WAMP, and productions were a Solaris box with PHP 4.? on it, and a Linux Box with PHP 5.? on it… That was always fun trying to get everything to work across all.

    I never ran into the navigation vs. Navigation thing though… Anyway, just looking forward to seeing it.

  2. Nori says:

    Went to the Paducah Symphony last night and thought of you.

  3. I develop on Windows and deploy on Linux myself [see the link above]. And this is definitely a problem that’s encountered often.

    Keeping a similar directory structure on both systems and having an .htaccess file that sets consistent php.ini values for your local and production vh/site/dir are some options.

    Aside from that, I think that’s just the price we pay for what we do.

