My WebDev Essentials

arg.png

  • EasyEclipse for LAMP, with Aptana – for glorious text editing experience with a LAMP setup. Aptana makes your web 2.0 javascript a lot easier to play with.
    • prototype js – unstoppable if you’re doing any serious javascripting
    • scriptaculous – for those “make it pretty” or “it just needs some umph” stakeholders =)
    • behaviour – for my “keep the markup pretty” inner zealot.
  • SQLyog – if you’re interfacing with MySQL on a regular basis, this is an essential desktop tool. Puts that old phpMyAdmin to shame.
  • PuTTY or gnome-terminal – at work I have to use Windows. At home I have to use Linux. gnome-terminal is built into gnome. putty is the way to go from Windows.
  • Adobe Photoshop CS2 – we’ve got a few licenses for it at work. For the working poor, give GIMP or Paint.NET a try.
  • Google Analytics beats the crap out of pretty much all of the free stats suites out there that run on your server.
  • Gaim and Skype are what I use for collaboration. It’s unfortunate we don’t use this at work, but I’m sure that will come in due time…
About andyhillky
I'm cool.

One Response to My WebDev Essentials

  1. yes SQLyog is cool

