ATI Linux Configuration – nVidia’s Switch Campaign (sponsored by ATI)

Open call to anyone who can read, I cannot for the life of my set up my ATI video card in Ubuntu.

My hardware:

  • ASUS A8V DELUXE Socket 939 VIA K8T800 Pro ATX AMD Motherboard
  • ATI 100-435105 Radeon 9800PRO 256MB DDR AGP 4X/8X Video Card

My current configuration:

andy@frostbite:~$ fglrxinfo
display: :0.0 screen: 0
OpenGL vendor string: Mesa project: http://www.mesa3d.org
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa GLX Indirect
OpenGL version string: 1.2 (1.5 Mesa 6.4.1)

I’ve tried every guide I can find. I’ve downloaded the binaries from ATI. I’m absolutely lost. Any takers? I’ll um… I don’t know. Be very very nice to you and probably refer to you as “The Wolf” forevermore.

Never again will I buy an ATI card.

About andyhillky
I'm cool.

3 Responses to ATI Linux Configuration – nVidia’s Switch Campaign (sponsored by ATI)

  1. drakar says:

    What’s the specific problem – is it not loading X at all, or does it load but with no GL/DRI/etc? I’m sure guides covered all this, but make sure the kernel has agpgart and drm support, and make sure Xorg is using the ‘radeon’ driver and not the ‘ati’ driver, as well as loading the glx and dri extensions.

  2. lazy ati says:

    http://www.mail-archive.com/debian-user@lists.debian.org/msg440319.html

    With my version, ATI drivers inserted an entry in /etc/profile, that caused the same result that you’re seeing, and I found the above link.

    This was a section at the end of the file, marked ATI, do not modify, which set the variable LIBGL_DRIVERS_PATH to an invalid path.

    The entire block probably should be removed, but just adding
    unset LIBGL_DRIVERS_PATH to /etc/profile after the ATI block.

    was sufficient to get it working again, assuming you’re having the same issue.

    Submitted this issue to ATI, but their bug list is appalling…

  3. Sethtrain says:

    I had this problem. Here is the solution:

    1. Go to easyubuntu.freecontrib.org and download that package.
    2. Install the ATI 3D acceleration package (last tab).
    3. After the install has completed run “aticonfig –initial –input=/etc/X11/xorg.conf”
    4. Reboot.

    Once you reboot you should see that you are no longer using Mesa but Ubuntu recongnizes your ATI card.

