Make Your Own Kind of Music

After some interesting experiences in Kansas City last week, It was invigorating to dive back into web application development, but it was disheartening seeing sides of the corporate world that all of the business classes underplay.

I’ve decided my ultimate goal is to go into business for myself.

It has been a tough decision to make, but I feel like I’ve got time on my side. Like Scott has said, if there was a time to screw up… it’s now. That one ‘hot’ geek also thinks it’s good to get into business now. I do not have money on my side, though. I cannot sustain on my own for the few months it would take for me to write my flagship application.

There are still options. I’m still applying for great jobs when I see them, but I can’t help to think about what I really want to be doing.

My ideas are there. Hell, the database schema is (mostly) done. If I can land a cushy job that actually allows me to breathe, I’ll be developing my own PHP framework to build my app and other apps.

So, like Cass Elliot says…

And if you will not take my hand
Then I must be going, I’ll understand
You gotta make your own kind of music
Sing your own special song
Make your own kind music
Even if nobody else sings along

And now, off to Dallas, TX for the 2006 AITP national conference.

About andyhillky
I'm cool.

2 Responses to Make Your Own Kind of Music

  1. After the day I just had — you definately want to work for yourself.

    Ugh.

  2. drakar says:

    If you can make it work, I highly recommend the self-employment route.

