Pete and Repeat

It’s been a while since I’ve had a post of actual quality. I’ll do one of those ‘this is all the shit I have going on’ posts…

  • Work – Next week I begin testing an application I’ve been developing at work since January. This is pretty nerve racking as well as rewarding. My first all out ‘app’ that’s been done exclusively in ColdFusion and MS Access. The biggest headache for this app has been a repeating date feature that was requested. I just don’t think it’s feasible and practical. I’ve convinced my superiors, now it’s time to convince the project’s stakeholders… I’m also working on migrating my buddy Jason’s Plant Database from PHP to CF so it can be moved from my server to the university’s. Oh, I’ve also been doing some training workshops along with the usual helping Totty and Derek with their XHTML/CSS/PHP/MySQL adventures.
  • School – I got an 88% on my first Astronomy test. I got a C on my first Strategic Management test that I knew about the day before, and got to study for about 30 minutes. Not terrible, considering the two week long consumption I endured. I’ve got a BPA442 test on Monday and a MGT443 test on Tuesday. My first ECO310 test is on March 2. Surprisingly, the most demanding course of the semester has been ENG101 online. I had entirely too much fun my first semester here, and now I’m paying for it. Sweet attrition.
  • Personal – I’ve officially fallen from my little workout throne. The time that’s demanded of me is getting to be too much, and I had to put something aside. I’m still eating decently, but not losing weight at all. I’ve plateaued. I’ll get back in the thick of things soon (this week or next week). Feel free to harass me and motivate me in any way you can. I gave myself the Valentine’s Day present of 13 episodes of LOST from iTunes last night. I’m so excited that I’ll be caught up with the series.
  • Organizations – The AITP website committee is meeting every Thursday from now until March. Today our MySQL access was setup. I’m eager to get this project off the ground. Phi Mu Alpha has been exceptionally demanding of my time with a little brother and being on the probationary member committee, as well as helping the pledges with their website. Most of it has been a great time. Unfortunately, we’ve also buried family members of one probationary member and one active member this semester. Singing at these funerals has been a very interesting experience. It’s good to be there for someone when they need you the most.

Whew. I think that’s about it. Yeah, it is.

About andyhillky
I'm cool.

7 Responses to Pete and Repeat

  1. I really hope that we can talk more as your schedule frees up. I’ve missed the bofester.

  2. Tate says:

    CF and Access, eh? Now you’re speaking my language! Did you use Dreamweaver MX as your editor? I’ve been wanting to try it out, I’m stuck using CF Studio 4.5 here at work, ugh.

    The times when you plateau are the times when it’s most difficult to keep plugging along, but keep chugging and reap the sweet rewards afterwards! Something that always helped me when I plateau’d (and I don’t know your workout schedule / diet plan) was to just switch it up. Do an exercise I haven’t done in forever, or do one really different, or throw in an extra 600 calories one day to give your metabolism a nice little kickstart =)

  3. Yeah, I’m using DWMX 8 for the development.

  4. Rachel says:

    LOST. is. amazing.

  5. I want to officially b_tchslap you for being even mildly excited about connecting to an access database*.

    Coldfusion is for webdev posers*.

    *attempting to spur controversy.

  6. richard says:

    Hey Andy, get back on that workout routine man. I have lost 8 lbs in the first month…right at my goal !!!

    If you want, come join Mac, Shannon, and me… We are there every wednesday, friday and sunday at 7:30 for strength training… cardio @ 7.

  7. scragz says:

    I just had a repeating date scenario and here’s what I came up with from looking at Evolution:

    CREATE TABLE someModelWithRepeatingDate (
    id int(10) unsigned NOT NULL auto_increment,
    isRepeating tinyint(1) unsigned NOT NULL default ‘0’,
    repeatType enum(‘week’,’month’,’year’) default NULL,
    repeatWeekDayOfWeek tinyint(3) unsigned default NULL,
    repeatMonthDayNumber tinyint(3) unsigned default NULL,
    repeatYearMonth tinyint(3) unsigned default NULL,
    repeatYearDayNumber tinyint(3) unsigned default NULL,
    PRIMARY KEY (id)
    );

    That’s from MySQL but should be easy enough to get going in MSAccess (oh, the pain of Access, and CF to boot). Then you would do something like:

    SELECT *
    FROM someModelWithRepeatingDate
    WHERE repeatWeekDayOfWeek = #variables.dayOfWeek#
    OR repeatMonthDayNumber = #variables.dayOfMonth#
    OR (repeatYearMonth = #variables.month# AND repeatYearDayNumber = #variables.dayOfMonth#)

    Mine is in PHP and isn’t done, so that CF/SQL may need some tuning. My next step is to add in support for every other week, every third month, etc.

    Thought that might help.

