Facebook vs. MySpace

Everyone that was my age I met on the west coast talked about MySpace.

All of them. Even the 25 beautiful SDSU cheerleaders that were on my flight to Cincinnati.

I have a healthy hatred of MySpace. It’s slowly starting to wane, though. They whore themselves out and somehow it works…

However, my MySpace loathing is not receding at the same rate that my Facebook love is growing. I’ve never experienced errors with Facebook. Ever. I’ve never had to download a greasemonkey script to NOT blow my brains out while browsing Facebook (http://userscripts.org/scripts/show/997)—oh, and let’s not forget the really important aspects of this…

Facebook uses PHP, MySpace uses ColdFusion. Facebook’s markup is pristine, MySpace’s markup is horrid at best.

They both get results—both sites are thriving. The fact is, after graduating college… how many new friends am I going to have on Facebook? Let’s just hope MySpace sees the light sometime soon…

About andyhillky
I'm cool.

11 Responses to Facebook vs. MySpace

  1. ryan guill says:

    tell me you put that line in there just to illicit a response from me…

  2. I bet he did..and if so..it worked

    hahaha

  3. Bittel says:

    Both are excellent for stalking people. Facebook is better for stalking however. Myspace is good for bands and that’s about it.

  4. Marshelle Dubois says:

    They both suck. Honestly, they are both too personal. I use to have a Myspace but I deleted it because it was just too personal. I don’t want people knowing my income or my relationship status. I don’t know if my friends care too much that I erased it. So far everyone has been pretty quiet about it.

  5. Victoria says:

    I have compiled what I think is quite a decent list of why Facebook is better than MySpace (ironically, I placed this list on MySpace).

    If you would like to check it out, I believe the direct URL is: http://blog.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=blog.view&friendID=7119563&blogID=156058337&MyToken=8fddbfc7-be85-4c76-b8fd-4bf11e6de5f3
    …If that doesn’t work then you could go here: http://blog.myspace.com/secksncandee and then click on the blog entitled Why MySpace is better than Facebook.

    Sure, a lot of it has a pinch of sarcasm in it, but nonetheless it’s got a point somewhere in there: Facebook is better.

  6. Hunter says:

    I think myspace is better for younger people and is meant for that age group mainly (teens through before graduating college) and facebook is mroe towards college grads trying to keep up with their friends and make new ones.

  7. bofe says:

    There’s no way I could have known that when I wrote this OVER A YEAR AGO…

  8. RickP says:

    Wow… n00bs unite! I think he has some posts from back in 2001 that probably don’t talk about other things that would now be incorrect.

    MABY!

  9. RickP says:

    Laf my language skills are teh 1337… It’s too late to not look retarded now, so I guess I’ll get out ‘disabilities and you’ booklet.

  10. tatr says:

    oops… i read the date as 07. sowwie 😦

