Symphonic Productivity

Tim says he gets a lot of work done when he’s listening to 311.

I just mentioned Aphex Twin as an agent in my efficiency last night.

Craig and Rick constantly mention music they’re listening to at work.

What’s everyone’s music of choice when you’ve really got to get things done?

Note: This doesn’t have to apply to computer work.

My choices of the moment:

  • Radiohead
  • Aphex Twin
  • Don Davis (the guy who wrote the soundtracks for The Matrix trilogy)
About andyhillky
I'm cool.

6 Responses to Symphonic Productivity

  1. It depends on the situation. When I was furiously working our webapp last week it was a combination of “Pretty Hate Machine” – Nine Inch Nails and the new tribute album to the Smashing Pumpkins.

    As a whole, My coding buddy Matt and I prefer random System of a Down.

    Different Projects have different soundtracks. CarCMS was written entirely listening to Radiohead.

  2. adam says:

    phish, phish, phish, phish, phish, phish, phish, phish, phish, phish, phish, phish, phish

  3. I usually listen to lifehouse or the calling when I am trying to get things done. Works pretty well for me.

  4. rickp says:

    DI Techno Hardcore when it’s late, dark, caffeine-drowned, desperation-induced coding.

    Eminem – if you’re looking for beats and lyrical trickery, you just can’t do better.

    http://www.pandora.com – the website basically allows you to, after signing up for a free account, specify a band or a song that you really like, and it will create a pausable radio station with only music that is deemed similar to what you’ve said you liked. VERY nice service.

    Mostly I find that if I have a solid beat, my typing becomes rhythmic, and I write blocks of code without thinking of anything other than the beat… pretty nice.

  5. tim says:

    I thought Rob Dougan did the music for the matrix movies.. hmm.. ?? clueless..

  6. Administrator says:

    tim,

    don davis did the ‘classical’ music — almost exclusively for revolutions, a lot of collaboration for reloaded, and not very much for the original besides the main theme.

