Speechless

I’m taking a 10 day public speaking course at the university. It’s a requirement to graduate, so I figured I would get it out of the way in as little time as possible.

Yesterday we gave a speech entitled “I am…” which was the typical 30-60 second speech about yourself. I basically made a speech out of my about page and threw in a couple of jabs like where I like to drink beer and how much I love Anchorman.

I’m determined to make my speeches unusual.

For instance, the prompt for today’s speech is this:

If you could have dinner with anyone in the world (living or deceased), who would it be and why?

My pick is [Sonya Thomas]. She’s a Korean-American that’s earned some praise from the competitive eating circuit. Did I mention she weighs 105 pounds?

Her records include:

  • Chicken nuggets – 80 chicken nuggets in 5 minutes
  • Cheesecakes – 11 pounds of downtown Atlantic cheesecake in 9 minutes
  • Hamburgers – 7 burgers (3/4 pound) “Thickburgers” in 10 minutes
  • Oysters – 36 dozen Acme Oysters in 10 minutes

I’d like to eat dinner with her because it would be amazing. “The Black Widow” also outate Kobayashi (the japanese hotdog machine)—well not technically. Her ratio of hotdogs eaten to body mass exceeded Kobayashi at a 2005 contest. Her: 37 / 105 lb. = 0.352 Him: 49 / 144 lb. = 0.340.

Don’t act like you’re not impressed.

About andyhillky
I'm cool.

Comments are closed.

