Tug of War

I keep going back and forth with Microsoft.

One day I’ll love them and have a deep respect for everything they’ve done for the world. Then the next day I’ll put on my FOSS hat and condemn us all.

I think Microsoft is going to run into trouble [Keeping up with the Jonses] with Google and Apple. Notoriously trite, the Slashdot comments (>=3) were excellent.

My conclusions:

  1. Innovation does not need to happen at Microsoft in order to be successful.
  2. Longhorn will be a disaster. Vendor lock-in will be the company’s savior.
  3. Yahoo & Google will crush MSN’s Search/Spaces/Hotmail.
  4. As time goes on, development with .NET / SQL Server will decrease dramatically.
  5. Microsoft’s high point is sales/marketing. Nothing else.
About andyhillky
I'm cool.

Comments are closed.

