Graphics Card over Mind

While I was at the lake a few weekends ago, I took a break from relaxing and fired up some TechTV. I mean, G4TechTV. How lame is that name? That’s like calling the classic game Frogger ‘Highway Crossing Frog’. Lame.

TechTV usually does a pretty good job of reviews, previews, and general tutorials for the less informed user. However, Leo Laporte said something that I can’t get over.

He was doing a plug for a text-based RPG whose name is unimportant. He said:

The mind is the most powerful graphics card of them all.

He was trying to say playing text-based games is so much better than graphics intensive games like Battlefield 1942. It’s not.

A Playstation 2 can draw/interpret do 20 million polygons per second. An ATI RADEON 9800 can do 380 million polygons per second.

On a good day, I can draw a polygon in one second. God. Leo Laporte sucks.

About andyhillky
I'm cool.

5 Responses to Graphics Card over Mind

  1. Bittel says:

    Help me pave the whole state of Kansas.

  2. Ross says:

    I had tons of fun with text games.
    Fed (was on aol, now -> http://www.ibgames.net/fed2/index.html )
    Hitchhiker’s Guide
    And the very best -> BBS rpg games.

    I can’t say mindless shooting in Unreal does the same for me as playing old text games.

  3. Randolph says:

    I’m thinking maybe you missed what Leo was getting at 🙂

    It’s the same way that reading a book is still drastically better than watching HDTV.

    Although it is NOT better than comcast on demand or p0rn.

  4. Adam says:

    wtf when did ps2 come out, i’m still playin megaman 4

  5. Chris says:

    On a good day, I can go 11 minutes without thinking of Candyland.

