Future Decisions

In two years I will have a bachelor’s of science degree with an Area in Computer Information Systems (emphasis: E-Commerce). I could do it in 1.5, but I don’t want to kill myself.

The question is, should I get an MBA ?

Good things of about me getting an MBA:

  • More Marketable to Employers
  • More Education and Credentials
  • More useful classes

Not so good things:

  • More time in school
  • More expense (note: this COULD change if I was promoted at the univ.)
  • Harder classes

The way I see it, I can be successfull with either path. I’m still not sure what kind of job I want to get, let alone where I want to live. The west has seemed nice, but so have a few cities in KY.

Suggestions, things to think about?

About andyhillky
I'm cool.

9 Responses to Future Decisions

  1. Randolph says:

    I’d go further with a M.S. in a technical field…MBA’s are becoming a dime a dozen. Unless you want to go into marketing or saled management, I’d stay on the tech side.

    Get a PHD and go work for Google.

  2. The Post Graduate work is not necessary.

  3. Bickett says:

    I thought about the exact same thing. I could get my BBA in Management Info Systems and and MBA in a total of 5 years. Yeah an MBA looks good and is more marketable, but even if you get hired somewhere they aren’t going to give you the position a person with an MBA should hold. There’s still politics involved.

    If you go all out and specialize in the E-Commerce field I think you’ll be fine. If you want the MBA, try to find a company that is going to want you to have one in the future and will be willing to PAY for you to get it.

    I’m in the same boat, and thats my plan. Just my 2 cents.

  4. Rick says:

    For what it’s worth, I considered the same thing. I’m now done with my BS in CSC. Certainly not to disagree directly with anything anyone else is saying, I just wish to pose a possible counter-situation (which happens to be modeled after my situation).

    So, you’ve liked computers since you were tiny (9 in my case) and have been programming forever (again, 9 or 10 maybe in my case) and part of what drives you throughout all of Jr. High, High School and even the fledgling years of College is the pursuit of technology, and education pertaining to that. Every forum you can read, every term you can think to search on, every book you can find on a discount rack that isn’t QUITE out of date yet…

    Then things change. Not sure why, but sometimes they do. Parts of your old fervor start to disappear or at least diminish. This isn’t to say you no longer enjoy using technology, or studying it, or researching it… just that something starts to dwindle. In my case, it was the pursuit of programming languages. I always loved them, and at various times have been fluent in probably 12-15 different programming languages (not including itty bitty scripting stuff). But somewhere in college (like the last year) I stopped wanting to learn programming languages and stopped wanting to utilize the ones I knew. I still enjoy a good programming stint when I get the chance and the motivation, but those moments are few and far between.

    The small company I was hired on with started me as a support/installations/training person. Shortly thereafter, I got promoted into a System’s Analyst role, on the path to being a developer. I don’t want to develop for a living for the rest of my life, and decided to tell my company that recently (along with some other stuff I needed to tell them). Now, I think I’m basically on a path to upper management with the company (middle management in 2 years, and then whatever from there on… hopefully executive). I am highly considering getting an MBA (if they’ll help pay for it) because it would help me on my chosen path.

    If you don’t WANT to spend the rest of your life coding, then don’t pursue a MS or a Doctorate in CSC, CIS or Comp Engineering… it’d be a waste of your time. If you don’t want to be a manager, don’t go for the MBA, though some of the courses will teach you valuable real-world applications, your post-grad education will be pretty much wasted.

    However, if you don’t know what you want to do at all, maybe stop with the education for now. Go get a full-time job (maybe if you get promoted there at MSU, you’ll get to experience this sooner) and see if that’s the kinda thing you want to do. If not, it should quickly become apparent to you which direction you want to go. I didn’t want to do management until I graduated and was with a company and saw how other managers don’t do their jobs and I want to make things better.

    I dunno, it’s a long comment about basically everything and nothing, so take it for what it’s worth. But in summation, don’t do something just because it’d be good for a certain career path, if you’re not sure that’s the path you want to take. And don’t do something just because everyone says it’s a great idea, unless you think you could do it and would enjoy it.

    Do what makes you happy, and don’t rush into anything.

  5. Bittel says:

    Will you get your MBA if I held you at gunpoint for 1.5 years?

  6. Bickett says:

    Rick,

    You are my hero.

  7. julia says:

    i think you should move to Canada and get your MBA, your dual citizenship, and a reason to moan about weird and cold weather.

  8. Coder says:

    Rick-

    I think what you are experiencing is a common trend among people who start (and in your case finish) a CSC degree from a passionate, enthusiast background. You eventually come to a point where the fun is gone, for a while. It sucks, because I come from that enthusiast background. I used to enjoy technology and programming languages and reading misc. books about languages or techniques that I’ll never use, etc. Now, I rely on a neverending hope to win the lottery and drink cheap whiskey before carpal tunnel sets in.

  9. Rick says:

    Coder-

    Honestly, I’m not really experiencing that now. That was a major let-down that settled in my last semester or two… I spent my second-to-last semester in Germany and almost decided go right back over, quit school and become a starving . Instead I finished out my degree, really not enjoying any of it, and now I have a position doing that same stuff. Recently my job has gotten a lot better, and one thing I can say at least is that they are pushing me to learn new stuff at an incredible rate… so the learning goes on whether I want it to or not.

