Black Lung Edge

If there’s something I hate more than PDAs it’s people call themselves straight-edge (or sXe).

But bofe, what is straight-edge?

Straight-edge refers to a philosophy that’s most basic tenets promote a drug free lifestyle. It developed as an offshoot of the punk rock/hardcore scenes of the early 1980’s when the term itself is believed to have been coined by Ian Mackaye, in the self titled song, while he was the singer of the seminal hardcore band, Minor Threat. Mackaye eschewed the nihilistic tendencies of punk rock, promoting instead the simple (almost simplistic) philosophy of “don’t drink/ don’t smoke/ don’t fuck.”

In the 12 years since the demise of Minor Threat, these simple beliefs have transformed the minds of scores of teens worldwide. Increasingly disenchanted with societal ills, young men and women adopt the straight-edge doctrine as a blueprint to better first themselves, and then the world in which they live. While the original definition of straight-edge only included the rejection of mind altering substances and promiscuous sex, modern interpretations include a vegetarian (or vegan) diet and an increasing involvement and awareness of environmental and political issues.

[ Taken from www.straight-edge.com ]

Just because you DON’T do drugs doesn’t make you cool. In fact, if you’ve ever claimed to be sXe you’re probably an idiot.

“I don’t do drugs or other things that could be harmful to myself LOOK AT ME!!!”

Let’s follow the sXe train of thought:

“I don’t murder people!!! LOOK AT ME!”—does that mean I should start an advocacy group opposed to murder? I’ll name this group after a Blink 182 song.

or even better:

“I’m not destroying a rainforest while eating a bleeding steak when I beat my wife and her dog!”—I guess this new group will be called blunt-edge, or soul-edge… or black-lung-edge.

Just leave the straight-edge lifestyle to the rulers.

If you do or do not drink/do drugs/etc., that’s your thing. Leave me the hell alone.

About andyhillky
I'm cool.

3 Responses to Black Lung Edge

  1. Stephie Mc says:

    I once dated a guy who was “straight edge.” He was actually pretty normal, I think. But he also had gauged out ear piercings and listened to vinyl records. So maybe that added to his oddness. Oh, and he was one of them new-fangled vegan types. Once he told me not to by Tide because it’s got horses in it or something. Maybe he wasn’t that normal after all…anyway, it was 6 years ago, so it doesn’t really matter anymore.

  2. Trick says:

    I am so pissed off at these elitist fucking sXe bastards. They think they’re so much better than me cause I like to smoke and drink. What makes them think they have the right to harass me over something that has absolutely no affect on their life what so-ever. If I wanna drink my brain away and smoke till my lungs look like a tar truck than I will. They can try and be militant all they want but don’t come looking for me. I want a counter revolution to this so called “Superior Lifestyle”. Something needs to be done about these suburbun yuppie larva that just got bored. Ya I don’t do drugs but I don’t beat the shit out of people for wearing Bob Marly shirts. God Damn punks need to be put in their place. A new revolution must begin. Rock was formed around the ideals of doing whatever the hell you want not oh I’m a vegan and pissed off cause I’m to afraid of my parents to have a drink or smoke. Who’s with me. Down with sXe

  3. hateXedge says:

    I am proud of being straight edge because it makes me realize how much I have matured. I used to drink and smoke, but I quit after a while and I dont understand the behavior of people under the influence anymore. All my friends need to be inebriated to have fun. Drugs and alcohol is a means of stupifying yourself in order to forget your problems and the fact that you are too shy to do things sober. Ive seen people plow into trees because they are so confident from this liquid retardation, yet they continue to drink the next weekend. People who smoke and drink are weak, they cant accept their sad life so they drink to forget about it. If this isnt true then why else would one drink? Drunks are weak and stupid. You probably just hate sXers because they are characterized as 15 year old immature Kids who are trying to be independant, but every social group has its members who give a skewed image of it. People think drugs are cool, or else they wouldnt hate the edge. We dont think that we are better than anyone else, we just want everyone to appreciate our senses as much as we do.

