The Ten Grand Challenge

I was talking to Craig Saturday and I got to thinking, I wouldn’t NOT enjoy having a little more money.

So, here’s the goal: to earn $10,000 in additional disposable income by next July.

Doesn’t matter if it’s earned via a raise with a current employer, or freelance work – now to formulate some plans.

Enough of this life of sub-luxury.

The prize? Like the winner needs a prize…whoever wins has $10,000 more. The prize will be anything I can get donated by readers – maybe Bittel will hook the winner up with a t-shirt or Pat will buy the winner a meal at Mason’s Restaurant.

I’ll post more rules, etc. if there is a sufficient interest in the contest.

Interested? Comment, or give me a buzz.

About andyhillky
I'm cool.

15 Responses to The Ten Grand Challenge

  1. Sounds good, we need a way to document money raised – what if you used money earned towards earning more — is it about how much liquid cash you have in the end? Or do assets count too?

  2. Jon says:

    Money is an asset.

  3. bofe says:

    It depends if those assets are generating disposable income for you.

    If you have $10,000 in ADDITIONAL disposable income (aka, loosely calculate your current disposable income for the past year based on wages/salary/expenses) and if you earn $10,000 in addition to that in the next year (before anyone else does) you win.

    Yes, this is pretty ‘trust-based’ but it’s not like the winner is getting anything but money they earn and some respect.

  4. bofe says:

    I think it should be a collaboration on the ‘rules’ of it all. So Comment away on how you think it should be…

  5. Pat says:

    I will donate a dinner. I have no problem with that, but you will have a heck of a time defining the “increase”. Make sure you define “disposable income” also. Are you talking W-2’s, and if so, someone that just graduated and got a full time job would have an advantage over those that are working part time and going to school

  6. Randolph says:

    Here’s the easy solution: for some of us, this isn’t about disposable income. This is about creating a business…..so, take your last pay check, figure out how much that is for a year. Now, to win, you should just have to increase REVENUE of $10,000.

    I.E. I do 10k in websites in the next year. However I go about doing that is up to me. If i keep all the money, or pay for advertising, etc….it’s a good lesson in entreprenuership.

    Or, have 2 categories. Revenue/Profit. But I don’t think getting a new job should count for this, unless you were already a full time employee somewhere…i.e. someone who was just a student would automatically win if they got their first job.

  7. randolph says:

    or, how about this: we set a goal for each of us to reach. mine would be generate $10k in freelance work.

    someone else’s could be to increase their salary by 10k, or a combination.

  8. Pat says:

    I like that idea. I would generate 10,000$ in commission.

  9. bofe says:

    Mine is to generate $10,000 in freelance work. And complete the work.

  10. Clayton says:

    I want to host all of these ‘freelance’ website 🙂

  11. Ross says:

    It’s only saving/earning $27.40 a day… Easy.

  12. Bittel says:

    Mark this down: The Winner will get an Airbrushed shirt that tells everyone how l33t you are.

  13. Devin says:

    Damn, I want an airbrushed shirt from Bittel… and I want $10K. I’m at a disadvantage of not being in the tech elite collection here that can do websites/free lance/ect. Hrm… anyone need media relations help?

  14. bofe says:

    Devin,

    Pat isn’t exactly of the techie persuasion either.

    Just state your goal.

  15. Devin says:

    My goal? Find a way to quit Lowe’s while still making enough money to pay the bills and have some left over. Can I do this on student loan excess and working the lab? Yes. But I’d be scrapping by. So I guess the first goal is to find a way to apply my skills to make money… I’ll expound upon this if I can ever remember the password to my blog.

