Second Fiddle

During my senior year of high school my dad bought me a CD. He knew I was on a Beethoven kick, so he went and got a special CD. I don’t know how he knew about it—I’m still sort of baffled that he was the one who exposed me to this recording.

It’s Beethoven’s 9th Symphony. Nothing out of the ordinary, right?

Except it was performed in Nazi Germany in March of 1942.

Beethoven’s 9th is a masterpiece, but once you realize that the audience, the members of the orchestra, the conductor, and the choir were probably all members of the Nazi party it starts to have an eerie feel.

I let my best friend borrow the CD a while ago because it struck her eye (what a music nerd, huh?) and she wanted to hear the 9th. Like any real friend, she brought the CD back to me when she was done with it. It’s just been in my car for a while doing nothing. I tried listening to it at work earlier, but something is wrong with the CD player so I’m going to listen to it again on the way home.

If you’ve talked to me in the past few weeks you know I’m on a big World War 2 kick. I watch the history channel, I have dreams about it, I play Medal of Honor, and I aspire to play BF1942. The games are great and the segments on teleivision are pretty well done, but the whole time is just ingrained in my mind as so meaningful.

And after the most important events in the world’s history – when every action every person had somehow contributed to the common good (for one’s cause) – I feel like I’m stuck just trying to play second fiddle (or violin? heh) to what Tom Brokaw dubbed ‘The Greatest Generation’.

About andyhillky
I'm cool.

2 Responses to Second Fiddle

  1. Ross says:

    I really get to “play second fiddle”.
    The marching band is going to the Washington DC WW2 Memorial Dedication. We’ll be marching in the big parade ( http://www.worldwar2parade.com/ ) and performing a concert on the steps of the Lincoln Memorial.
    I have a long solo that lasts for half of “Band of Brothers”. Yay. 🙂

  2. Dude, you know how much of WW2 buff I am … anytime you want sit around and talk about it or discuss kraut vs. yankee tactics or anything, I am game. And when I get done with my script (hopefully this summer), I will make sure you get a chance to read it.

    Or, we can just … kill kraut dogs. I am up for that too.

