Competitors Bested, Obstacles Overcome

Although this is another entry dealing with competition, I’m talking about a different kind of competition. The competition is purely internal and can prove to be much more difficult than any mud-ridden sporting contest. The competition was my mind.

My battle with mathematics has puzzled people, since they follow this train of thought “He’s good with the internet, so that means he’s good with computers, so he must be REALLY good at math.” Wrong.

After my middle school days with Mr. Firkins I was a “C” student in high school math. I think a part of my only-average performance in high school can actually be attributed to my affinity for the web. I would rush through the assignments, never showing my work and end up doing a very sloppy job.

My college experience with math is a lot worse.

  • MAT 135 (statistics) – D.
  • MAT 250 (Calculus) E (or failing).
  • MAT 150 (college algebra and trig) E.
  • MAT 140 (college algebra) C.

In 150 and 250, I worked as hard as I could up until the first test. I failed both of the first tests, so I just stopped going because there was little point for me to push myself to the limit when I was going to fail. Unfortunately, the results of the first test were given to us AFTER the drop/add date… or I would have dropped the classes. 150 and 250 are five hour classes. This fight has all but shot my GPA.

Talk about discouraging. I was ready to quit school after this semester if I did not pass MAT 150 this spring. This semester, I’m retaking the course.

Luckily, with some encouragement from friends and family and an excellent professor, the opposite has happened. I’m acing MAT 150. I got a 101% on the most recent test, and an 88% on the first test. If I end up with an A in the class, an A for the 5 hour class is what will go on my record. I’ll definitely be ready for 250 in the fall.

I’m also in a statistics class this semester, and I’m also proud to say I earned another 101% on our first test, and I’m acing the class.

In addition, I’m realizing that it doesn’t really matter if I know the degree of a polynomial function. What matters is that I recognized a weakness, isolated it, and conquered it. What matters is that I have the ability to learn the degree of a polynomial function. What matters is that I was willing to put everything I have into a worthy cause.

What matters is that I’m still here, and I’m not about to go back to my old ways.

About andyhillky
I'm cool.

5 Responses to Competitors Bested, Obstacles Overcome

  1. Deezil says:

    Mr. Bofe, congratulations from everyone over here at Deezil’s funny farm. I’m glad you got things straightened up and are now doing it right. :bigthumb:

  2. sparky says:

    glad you’re doing well in your math courses. it’s an awesome thing when you can turn an E into an A. keep up the good work

  3. RP says:

    2 + 2 = You Rule

  4. Jon says:

    I don’t excel at math either, but a lot of times I think my shortcomings are based mainly around the professor. Math 110 – Geometry & Trig – C. But the teacher was like older than Jesus and I couldn’t understand what he said, plus it was one of my first college classes. I went on to make a C in MA 162 – Finite Math, but absolutely hated the teacher more than any I’ve ever had. His tests were written really bad.

    Then, out of nowhere, I get an A in MA 123 – Business Calc. Loved the teacher and somehow that helped me. Then WAY out of nowhere STA291 – Stats – A. Great teacher and a great recitation teacher really made sure I knew what I was doing.

    So I think with me it must be a mental thing with the teacher. If I don’t like the teacher, I don’t do as well in the class. For me its the teacher that makes all the difference.

  5. Chris says:

    I think numbers suck and should burn in hell.

    I got a 35 on the ACT in math and a 27 in english. wtf? I always scored higher in math sections than any other on standardized tests yet in school I completely sucked in pre-cal and cal and all that.

    Conclusion: kill math.

