My Lenten Voyage

At church in Owensboro we would have mite boxes during the lent season. If you’re not familiar with the concept of the mite box, it’s fairly simple: put your loose change in it during the lent season and give it away. The money usually goes to missionary endeavors.

Usually I would give up sweets, fast food, or soda.

A few things have changed since my early days, but nonetheless I will still be giving something up for lent this season – even though I’m not close to a practicing catholic/episcopalian. I’m giving up swearing.

Let me say that again: I’m giving up swearing for lent.

Swearing is something I do far too much of, and most of the time it makes me look uneducated.

It’s going to be a long 40 days and 40 nights, but I imagine Jesus had it a little worse in the desert.

About andyhillky
I'm cool.

4 Responses to My Lenten Voyage

  1. jules says:

    i’m your biggest lenten fan

  2. Nichole says:

    After much debate and realizing that nothing I could give up really meant anything, I decided to ADD something instead. So more prayer, and hopefully I’m going to start Bible study again.

    Good luck to you – I’m glad I have Mary-K to help me with my Lenten goal.

  3. Clayton says:

    I wish I had given something up for ‘lent’ though I am not catholic by any stretch. I think that it is a great way to hold yourself accountable and make you realize a lot of things.

    Swearing is difficult to give up. I have cut back on it extremely (part of getting older and wanting to sound older does that) … Good luck bofester – I know you can do it. And with god on your side, who’s gonna stop ya?!?

  4. julia says:

    Though Catholics hold this tradition the closest… I have known individuals from almost every denomination take part 🙂

