Free Yourself From Yourself

I’ve been living on my own since May when I was working two jobs over the summer.

Before then, I had been surrounded by friends and family constantly or at least my old roommate, JD, who doesn’t really fit into either category.

Although I would never have admitted it, I was a bit of a social chameleon in those days. Only a purely Owensboro scale, when I went to hang out with the guys that graduated from DCHS I’d act totally different then when I was hanging out with The Dude. That doesn’t even include who I became when I was hanging with the friends from racerband, the MSUR crew, or simply talking to quasi-estranged friends online.

Now I’m still varying my behavior relative to the groups of people I’m communicating with, but far it is from becoming another person altogether.

How did I jump this hurdle? Living by myself. I’ve learned a lot about who I want to be, and who I don’t want to be throughout high school and college. Living by yourself gives you a chance to start shaping that person you want to become by getting to know the “real” you, and how you react to situations.

Sometimes you forget that you’re actually a thoughtful person because you’ve spent all of your energy into being an insecure jerk.

So instead of attention-whoring yourself out with whatever cries for help you may have, get away from everyone that you’re trying to impress. Try to impress yourself.

About andyhillky
I'm cool.

One Response to Free Yourself From Yourself

  1. fredward says:

    I like “get away from everyone that you’re trying to impress”

    if i find myself wanting to impress someone the first thing I think of is “why do i want to impress them?”

    another great thought from the bofe.

