Superlative Music

I was recently asked the question “What is your favorite song, and why? Not one that you can just listen to a million times, but one that really means something to you.”

My response? Mahler’s “Resurrection” (Symphony No. 2). It’s so epic, huge, elaborate. It’s one of the songs that still gives me chills every time I hear it.

By the way, the German translation is much much better. The first time I heard the song (Senior year of high school, at Owensboro Community College) I was moved. I didn’t know what it was about, I just knew that there was such a driving passion in the music… later that year I sang baritone in a choir that accompanied the Owensboro Symphony Orchestra. It was simply amazing. Music that elegant, that articulate, that profound can have such an impact.

A more contemporary song, because of the lyrics would have to be Tool – Lateralus. Not only does the song’s meter cycle from 9/8 8/8 7/8, but it also has heavy lyrics that strike a chord in me. It flows so well, and just speaks to me.

Read more for the lyrics of each song.

(more…)

About andyhillky
I'm cool.

2 Responses to Superlative Music

  1. jules says:

    i am without words.

  2. Giblet says:

    IT’S BULLSHIT! YOU’RE FAVORITE SONG IS THE BURLY MAN BRAWL! BOFERSONE!!!!!!!!!!!

