A Personal Update

It’s been a while since I’ve had the time to update on the goings-on here in bofehendge.

A lot of these things have gotten casual mentions here and there on the site, but I wanted to make it ‘official’ for no other purpose than me looking back on things in a few years. If you don’t feel like waiting for posts like this to come around, feel free to subscribe to my “life” feed which automagically feeds my links, twittering, and all things memememe.

I’ve got a girlfriend. WTF! She’s 18. She’s country. She can tolerate me. She’s awesome. I have no idea how it happened, and I’m definitely not complaining. =)

I’m working with VMware on a daily basis. Not the typical DBA role (or assistant DBA role), but I’m enjoying it immensely. VMware brings us new challenges, new ways of thinking, and keeps us away from our server room. Before coming back to MSU I had never even used VMware, now I can’t imagine a day in the IT world without it. We have four ESX 3.5 hosts that house production VMs and one VMware server 2.0 beta server that we use internally.

I bought a new bed. The OriginalBed by Tempurpedic, to be specific. I also bought a new frame for the bed and two tempurpedic pillows. I’m dreaming nightly. It’s an unbelievable difference. One day I’ll take down that TOOL poster and not have the bedroom look like a dorm room.

I finished a graduate school class. This one was Organizational Behavior (online)… Management 651. Pretty interesting class, not too challenging. I got a B. Then I met with my advisor about getting my graduate school program changed from an MBA to an MSIS. It’s more in line with my long-term goals.

I survived the first Rothbury Festival. Unbelievable. I haven’t decided if I want to go back next year. The best thing was going into the show with a relatively blank slate on a lot of the bands. I had heard OF bands like Widespread Panic and STS9 but not really listened to them or formed an opinion. Needless to say, I’ve got two new favorites. No complaints at all except for the obligatory gas price rant.

Here’s a video with shots of what the place looked like after dark:

Ask me for pictures. They’re on Facebook if you’re a friend =)

I ordered a laptop. It should be shipping soon. That was today. Here’s the system – I also ordered a gig of RAM and a wireless ergonomic keyboard and mouse. I’m going to make a sincere attempt at the ergo keyboard. My hands need it. I’m eagerly anticipating the arrival… I’ll have a post about my new setup when it’s done.

About andyhillky
I'm cool.

7 Responses to A Personal Update

  1. RichardK says:

    don’t take down the tool poster!!! it looks vintage (post-undertow/pre-aenima)…

  2. bofe says:

    It’s definitely vintage, but we all grow up sometime.

  3. Craig says:

    Growing up sucks, avoid at all costs, smile daily when you look at your tool poster… I’ll never get to experience that again… think to yourself “Craig can never hang a tool poster on his wall, ever again” and then smile bofester, smile your little heart out.

  4. miranda says:

    i vote for the tool poster staying up.

    you may grow older, but that doesn’t mean you have to grow up.

  5. adam says:

    traded bed for 10 lbs of shrooms

  6. Maggie Maple says:

    I love that ergonomic keyboard–I got a mousepad and a laptop holder from Ultimatebackstore.com and was looking for a keyboard to buy for the office. Ergonomics are really great, aren’t they? And this website is perfect for finding any office accessory you can imagine in the ergonomic form.

  7. Brad says:

    Yea dude, definitely keep the Tool poster up!!!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

